Nov 282016

The Panthers winter athletes were introduced as part of the inaugural Maumee Madness event on November 17. The night also featured community contests and games, performances by the cheerleading and dance teams and a dodge ball game between the students and administration. MIRROR PHOTO BY JOE NEGRICH

BY ANDY ROWER | MIRROR SPORTS — The Panthers winter athletes were introduced as part of the first annual Maumee Madness community event on November 17. The brainchild of Maumee Athletic Boosters president Keith Drown and Eric Phillips, the event included a number of fun contests and games in addition to the introductions of the teams. Freshman Cameron Green kicked the night off with an amazing guitar rendition of “The Star-Spangled Banner” before this year’s dance team was introduced in the gymnasium. Team members Haley Arena, Hannah Crouch, Abigail Durham, Rachael Haddad, Emily Hutchins, Caitlyn Kuron, Madeline Nowak, Lillian Stichler, Haley Trevino and Brianna Wielinski were introduced, one by one, as they exited the giant inflatable Panther used by Maumee’s football team. Following a performance by the dance team, a 3-point shooting contest was conducted, involving the likes of Athletic Director Matt Szyndler, Superintendent Dr. Todd Cramer, boys varsity basketball coach Derek Sheridan and new varsity girls basketball coach Rod Hersha. Panthers bowlers Keaton Beaverson, Chris Becker, Miles Benton, Alex Burton, Sam Burton, Roby Fairchild, Cole Imm, Mason Lather, Jack Rogge, Hayden Schroeder, Tommo Shippey, Joe Sniadecki, Josh Sniadecki, Tyler Struffolino and Sam Wolfe next formed a human rack of pins after being introduced, allowing Maumee bowling coach Marty Teifke to knock them all down by rolling a simulated strike. Cheerleader Maddy Poling next won a round of the knockout basketball drill by bettering captains from all other winter teams, before a short speech by Drown. Following his talk about the importance of supporting the Panthers athletes, several Maumee youths took part in a relay in which they raced the length of the court. Once on the other side, the kids were helped into varsity apparel by the aforementioned sport captains before they raced back to their original starting point. From there, Panthers senior Zak Kirk was given special recognition for his sixth-place finish at the state cross country championships on November 5. Next came the wrestlers, including Alyssa Bachas, Steven Bobash, Robert Caesar, Steven Chen, Alan Conboy, Ryan Conboy, Louis Dennings, Alex Drown, Alex Fitzgerald, Jason Gildemeister, Mason Haas, Ryan Haas, Ryan Harrison, Alec Herbster, Lee Hessel, Carlos Huembes and Nathan Jokinen. Also on the team, Austin Klocko, Wai Lam, Blake Lee, Connor McCown, Dominic Mendez, Noah Pasquinelli, Brandon Phillips, Brock Sautter, Blake Schneider, Justin Schneider, ReShawn Smith, Hunter VanDusen, Lonnie Wells and Tyler Wilson were subsequently introduced. They were followed by gymnasts Leah Braman, Ally Bobash, Lillian Daughton, Brianagh Dean, Alyssa Delffs, Alexandria Devries, Haley McNutt and Anna Yeager. The cheerleading team was next, including freshmen Emma Armstrong, Abby Durham, Kayla Harrigan, Karena Hites, Avery Kain, Chayah Keller, Elizabeth Lunsford and Makayla McFry and junior varsity team members Parker Caesar, Alex Heyne, Caitlyn Kuron, Madalyn Polling, Lily Rable, Cameron Roberts, McKenna Ryan and Tricia Scott. The varsity cheerleaders included Delaney Cleghorn, Rachel Haddad, Franny Khanga, Katie Kirk, Taylor Linke, Brooklyn Mendoza, Christina Thomas and Haley Trevino. The competition squad next performed before the gym lights were turned off. With a spotlight following them from the inflatable Panther to the hoop, the girls basketball players were each introduced as they drove in for a layup. This year’s junior varsity squad includes Mady Chirico, Faith DeArmond, Makayla Galloway, Freedom Neal, Abbe Rank, Zoe Ramirez and Nora Smalley. The varsity team includes Haley Arena, Chloe Bunce, Olivia Harrison, Parris Hurt, Lauren Johnson, Sophie King, Makenzie Olson, Brittany Ortner, Jessica Perrault, Crystal Ramos, Alissa Schneider, Natalie Winkle and Brianna Zattau. The Panthers boys freshman team of Peyton Beaverson, Nate Dudley, Zach Freeman, Alex Hampton-Bey, Michael Helminski, Michael Henry, Dylan Kroggel, Jordan Oliver, David Walker, Zach Warnecke, Garret White and Tavian Wrighten was then introduced. The JV crew of Eli Augustyniak, Justen Behnfeldt, Andy Burkhart, Adam Diegel, Steven Green, Bailey Kayne, Sam LaChapelle, Justin Matcham, Luis Perez, Devin Schiavone was then introduced the same way before the varsity team was recognized. That team includes James Braithwaite, Jacob Curtis, Marcus Durden, Connor Graetz, Blake Hazard, Jared Jensen, Colin McGann, Ben Pacer, Jacob Richardson, Hunter Thomasson and DaMichael White. The last competition of the night followed, a friendly dodge ball game between Maumee’s administration and a selection of students. After a brief speech, Maumee Mayor Richard Carr refereed the bout, which ended when the entire Panthers student section rushed the floor to tip the balance in their side’s favor. The night ended with a mass group shot of all this year’s winter teams together, followed by a mannequin challenge.